End of Year Awards Finalists Announced

With the season having drawn to a close, the coaching staff has reflected on the past season. The collegiate rugby landscape is constantly changing and the ‘Noles continue to adapt and progress. This year marks the second year under Head Coach Kirk Swanner and during this year the FSU Rugby has adapted to the changing landscape and continued to flourish.

During the fall the ‘Noles ran both a competitive 7’s program and a developmental 15’s program at the same time. Both programs made huge impacts on the players preparing them for the competitive spring season. This can be seen in the finalists for the end of year player awards.

“It’s always tough to make these decisions,” noted Assistant Coach Dylan Hamilton. “There are many quality candidates but those that are listed below have certainly put their hand up and deserve to be recognized.”

FSU Rugby is proud to announce the finalists for the 2013 Player Awards. The awards will be handed out at this week’s Player Banquet.

Top Freshman Forward
Alex Bluteau, Jay Jones, James Kostuch

Top Freshman Back
Michael Divver, Zach Sciscente, Sanitago Torregrosa

Most Improved Player
Anthony Bouza, Colby Carinhas, Chase Costa, Robert Estridge

O’Sullivan Award for Most Valuable Contribution
Anthony Bouza, Gianluca Gombar, Javier Ayo

Emerging XV MVP
Brandon Hillan, Merrick Salisbury, Pat Steffens, Lucianio Todeschini

Most Valuable Player:
Binh The Bui, Dan Burczak, Travis Crevecoeur, Geno Hill, Dan Sammons